Military Records guide updated

Gina Strack Research Guides

  Just in time for Veterans Day on Wednesday, November 11, 2009*, the research guide for military records organized by wars and conflicts has been updated. The text now includes more historical context for such key records as those of the Territorial Militia (or Nauvoo Legion) which are some of the earliest records at the Utah State Archives, as they …

Recent Naturalization Records

Gina Strack News and Events, Research, Research Guides

Naturalization records after 1906 are available from the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services, as explained in our Research Guide on Naturalization. The records discussed as part of the Genealogy Program, however, end in 1956. If you were naturalized in the time since, you may be able to request a Replacement Naturalization/Citizenship Document from BCIS. Submit Form N-565 which is …

Post-1906 Naturalization records moving to U.S. National Archives

Gina Strack History, News and Events, Research Guides

Naturalization records maintained by the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services since 1906 will be transferred from the Department of Homeland Security to the National Archives and Records Administration beginning in 2010. Public access will be available if the immigrant has passed away or turned 100 years old. Previously, these files were available through a laborious Freedom of Information Act …

New Supreme Court Research Guide

Gina Strack News and Events, Research Guides

While looking for some related information, I discovered a research guide for Supreme Court records written probably around 1997, when several relevant records series were processed (such as Abstracts & Briefs and Opinions). It has now been adapted for online use and checked for anything obviously overlooked in the time since its writing. Utah Supreme Court Records research guide

Government Publications and Information

Gina Strack News and Events, Research Guides

A new research guide is available with an introduction and some information on finding records informally classified as Publications: Government Publications and Documents Unlike the original records created by Utah state and local agencies held by the Utah State Archives, publications are meant to be widely distributed and often come to the Archives in non-traditional ways. A majority of recent …

Legislative records updates

Gina Strack News and Events, Research Guides

A series inventory for the House of Representatives’ Floor debate recordings is now available. Topics discussed in the recordings include proposed legislation, votes on legislation, testimony or comments on legislation, resolutions, and all other business conducted on the floor of the House. The container list is organized into a list of legislative days that correspond to the House Journals. The …

Irish Ancestry

Gina Strack History, Research Guides

As some cool Celtic musicians once said, “Everyone is 1/365th Irish.” You know, because of St. Patrick’s Day! However, if you have some real Emerald Isle blood in you (like 12% of Americans), and your ancestors landed in Utah (and maybe stayed awhile), there is a chance the Utah State Archives Research Center has some records about them. Naturalization records …

District Court Records Guide Updated

Gina Strack News and Events, Research Guides Leave a Comment

The processing and research staff of the Utah State Archives is excited to unveil the latest edition of the Utah State District Court Records Guide.  Work associated with this resource began in 2005 with a systematic inventory of historic records in all of the 29 state district courts.  The information compiled during this inventory was reconciled against all known holdings …

Naturalization Records since 1906

Gina Strack Research Guides Leave a Comment

After checking some external links on the Naturalization Records Guide, discovered that the previously announced U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Genealogy Program is now active. The relevant links on the guide have been updated. Meanwhile, if you are looking for citizenship records from 1906 to 1956, their program offers index searches and records requests for a fee that should be …

Divorce Records guide updated

Gina Strack Research Guides Leave a Comment

The Divorce Records research guide has been updated to reflect a much wider availability of civil court records here at the State Archives from districts throughout the state, besides Salt Lake County. This new website has provided a good opportunity to review and update content. Let us know what you think!