Below you'll find a list of all posts that have been categorized as “Research Guides”
“Start your search—but don’t finish it—online.” Sunny Jane Morton and Judy G. Russell, “Researching Courthouse Records In-Person and Online” The Utah State Archives has a lot of court records. Before computer systems and databases, access tools were needed and created to locate a specific record. It was common from the 1800s to the late 1900s to use either bound index …
This year marks the 20th anniversary of the 2002 Olympic Games in Salt Lake City! As the repository for government records, the Utah State Archives has a wonderful collection of documents related to this historic event. Let’s take a look… Series 26017 – Governor Leavitt 2K2 Program Records 2K2 was created by Governor Michael Leavitt as a non-profit organization to …
There are few records held by the Utah Division of Archives and Records Service that illustrate the power and importance of communication like the correspondence sent and received by Utah’s governors. As the chief executive of the State, the governor directly engages with issues of both local and national importance. The governor correspondence collections are filled with an array of …
The Utah State Archives is thrilled to introduce Primary Source Sets curated from the official Utah government records repository. Each set provides historical context for important events, discussion questions, and primary source examples for both elementary and secondary school students. A primary source is a first-hand account of an event or topic. Letters, meeting minutes, photographs, diary entries, interviews, and …
A number of records related to legislative research have been updated with new issues, supplements, and volumes from 2018. To better understand the process of legislative research, start with our research guide on Legislative Records Overview, with a more in-depth guide to Legislative Intent and History also available . The Utah Code Unannotated is the complete set of codified law …
When I first learned how to research court records, it was a multi-step process involving research guides, paper binders, and at least two sets of microfilm. Finding a particular case required me to: identify the court or jurisdiction (perhaps using the Historical Jurisdiction guide) identify available name indexes or alternatives (using the Court Records guide) retrieve and search the microfilm …
We are pleased to highlight a new biography for the research guide to the records of Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. Governor Huntsman served from 2005 to 2009, when President Barack Obama selected him to be the United States Ambassador to China. Lieutenant Governor Gary Herbert replaced him and then was elected governor in 2010 and re-elected in 2012 and 2016. …
A number of records related to legislative research have been updated with new issues, supplements, and volumes from 2017. To better understand the process of legislative research and where to access records, start with one of our research guides such as Legislative Intent and History or Legislative Records Overview. The Utah Code Unannotated is the complete set of codified law …
As the 2017 Legislative Session winds up, we’d like to highlight some relevant legislative publications that have been updated recently. It’s always best to start with a Research Guide, such as Legislative History or Legislative Records Overview. The Unannotated Code is the complete, codified law statutes reflecting changes in the most recent session. It has been published since 1982. The …
The research guide to divorce records has been updated to provide a more comprehensive resource during the territorial period (1850-1895). The list of records in that section listed most but possibly not all territorial court records where a divorce could be found. Now there are links to the county probate courts and district courts on the research guide to territorial …
